Back to Diane's HomePage
Kontakt

Diane's DEC Alpha & VAX Page


Deutsche Version


by

Diane Neisius aka ~medusa

Last update: 15. Dezember 2012



Contents

DEC Alpha 21164

MicroVAX II

Links



Anti spam coded email adress :
medusa ät diane minüs neisius döt de




DEC Alpha 21164



Somtimes a project starts by accident. For long time I tried to get an Alpha chip somewhere. As these things go it was a lucky find to get a cheap one from the electric bay. But I still was curious if that block of ceramic and gold still would work which let me end up with another lucky bid on an Alpha PC mainboard. A real good one with an additional 533 MHz 21164 CPU, it had 1GB RAM on it plus an additional PCI64 card with 2x ethernet, 2x SCSI and a graphics chip. To be honest I do not need the card (if someone needs it, I'm willing to trade it in, preferably for some PDP-11 or microVAX hardware).
All stuff worked quite well, even the first CPU chip runs slightly overclocked at 466 MHz quite well on the board.
Picture 1 - This chip started my Alpha project. Bought as scrap in the 'bay, it is still fully operational.

So, what to do with a naked AlphaPC 164LX board? For me the first goal is (of course) to put Debian Linux on it... there are quite good tutorials about this in the web so I omit the installation procedure here just giving some hints where problems arised.
I used the first serial port on the board (that's the upper of the two DB9 plugs). Connected it via a null modem cable to a PC running a terminal emulator, same way as for my PDP-11. A common PC style ATX PSU plugged into the power connector of the Alpha board and up & running was the SRM console.
Picture 2 - The AlphaPC 164LX viewed from above. Characteristic pattern by L3 cache chips is upper left edge of the photo. I used two CF cards in IDE adaptor boards in place of true HDDs, their control leds light up half of the board. In one of the PCI32 slots there is an old Realtek 8139 ethernet card (hard to see, just the edge) which is detected by the OS.

Picture 3a/b - Besides the PC ATX PSU there should be at least a power button (left besides the 20-pin power connector). I also added a power led, a HDD led, and a reset button (left photo). All buttons/leds I soldered onto pieces of IC sockets and plugged them directly to the pins on the board.

For the first boot I removed the DVD drive from my desktop PC and connected it to the secondary IDE plug. The Debian installer DVD boots quite nice from it using the SRM command "boot dqb0 -flags 1".
On the primary IDE bus I plugged a CF adaptor holding an 8GB card. A poor girl's SSD in a way, it is way enough for such an old machine.
At first all this worked quite well. Debian installed automatically on the 8GB CF card. Just the install screen looked a bit funny via the monochrome terminal/ serial interface screen but no problems so far. Just rebooting after the installer finished did NOT work. I tried a number of tips and tricks from the Alpha Linux nerd forums around the web but nothing helped. Even partitioning of the drive in BSD mode was a fail.

Booting from installer DVD still worked well, and a change to rescue mode, open a shell and a "chroot" to my CF card filesystem did as well. Thus, my filesystem was ok just the bloody SRM didn't want to boot it. Which, on the other hand, it did from an ISO file system... hmmmm...
Alas, the solution was to set up the /boot partition as its own ISO disk. I copied /boot from the 8GB card to my PC (using a multi card adaptor that's a lot easier than to change an entire HDD). Made an *.iso image of /boot by a common CD burner app (use your favourite one, doesn't matter as long as it does ISO9660 format). Next step is done by the tool "isomarkboot" which makes the *.iso bootable on an Alpha. The aboot loader has to be in the *.iso's root (from a Debian install, it already is; its name for the 164LX board is "bootlx").
On the shell then enter "isomarkboot mybootiso.iso bootlx" (substitute the name of your *.iso here). Before setting up the iso image I also customized some of the Linux kernel parameters in the file etc/aboot.conf. As I planned to run the board only via serial console, I put in here a "console=ttyS0" as a kernel parameter.
Last step was to "burn" the *.iso image to a second CF card. The smallest cheapest slowest card will do here for the iso size is just 100MB, leaving the rest of the CF card unused.
Of course, also a real burn of the *.iso image to a CD is possible. Tried it, too, worked the same way as a CF card adaptor on the secondary IDE. Just my desktop PC wanted its DVD drive back. ;)
Picture 4 - AlphaPC 164LX board running under Debian Linux. Left in the back the serial null modem cable. A window running a terminal emulator is visible on the desktop flatscreen. Serial is running 9600 baud, 8bit, no parity, 1 stopbit (default). Stylish black-green VT102 which I use normally for my PDP also fits the 15 year old Alpha well, too...

Yes, and now, what to do with it... of course I did a performance test with linpack. I was surprised the Alpha has quite a power, it keeps close to the results of newer ARM based machines such as the iPad 1 or a Wii.
Using the full 1GB ram even a 10,000x10,000 Matrix fits, but it takes the 21164 CPU about 1.5 hours to do the LU decomposition of it.

Missing: a case. A small 2HU one would be nice. Like very much the style of the AlphaStation 500 ones...




MicroVAX II

With a PDP-11 and an Alpha there was just a VAX missing in my collection... concerning this I also first thought only about a CPU (maybe a fancy KA820?). Of course also in this case it would be nice if that old silicon still would be able to run. Without additional effort, a check only is possible in my Qbus PDP-11 backplane... which led me towards the microVAXen.
Got a cheap KA630 CPU in the end, the original microVAX II with the 78032 chip on it which was the first VAX core fitting in a single chip. Mine is an "A2" which looks like the "A1". Nice item for a collection. Also this CPU has nearly the same power as the famous VAX 11/780 which can lead to some naming fantasy about the uVAX II (see below).
The KA630 CPU has a console interface, ROM, 1MB RAM and firmware onboard. Thus it can run standalone - the console firmware reminds a bit to the Alpha SRM console in a rudimentary form. Just enough to understand the Alpha's origin.
The M7606 is quad-height module (the KA630 CPU) thus it doesn't fit into a dual backplane I own. However, a closer look shows there are only adress bus signals on the C and D finger. The power supply leads are redundantly present on the A and B fingers. All control signals of the VAX Qbus are the same as for the PDP-11 Qbus (especially the DC_OK, see my PDP-11 page). So it is possible to run a lone uVAX CPU in a dual backplane. You just can't plug any other module in. Additionally, my dual backplane is only Q18 but since there is nothing else present it doesn't matter.

Picture 5 - Probably the weirdest VAX found in the web: my H9281 dual backplane (from my PDP-11/03) removed from its card cage for otherwise a quad module will not be able to get a mechanical fit. The naked backplane can't lie on it bottom side or else the wire-wrap pins will bend and produce shorts. Thus, the uVAX II CPU with the dual backplane only on its AB fingers is turned by 90 degrees here. Left end hangs the little control board from the PDP.
Important: the uVAX must get forced air cooling. Without both the 78032 and 78132 chips become to hot to touch after a few minutes. Not good as every owner of an overclocked graphics card knows, too. Semiconductors live the longer the cooler they're kept. Cooling here is done by a free-hanging PC case fan which blows air to the both mushroom-shaped heat sinks.
Behind the board there is my PC flatscreen with a terminal emulator - again, stylish black and green.

Also the serial console interface can use stuff from the PDP-11. It has same pinout as the serial interfaces on a DLV11-J quad serial card so I already had cables for it - see my PDP-11 page for it, too.
All else connectors of the CPU board can be left unconnected for a first test. This is like logical zeroes on the pins and means:

This way the uVAX II CPU starts for a test. Console prompt is already the same which is used still at the Alpha SRM: a ">>>".
Immediately after entering the console mode the CPU is in interrupt mode of highest priority (all interrupts are masked out). Interrupt stackpointer (ISP) is mapped to R14 and initialized to value 0x200. Moreover, virtual memory mapping is switched off thus all memory addresses are physical RAM addresses.

Picture 6 - A view to the "L" special jumper I soldered from an IC socket. It is plugged to J2 and pulls HLT ENB pin and two of the serial config pins to ground (means a logical "1" in the inverted input logic). CPU boots to console mode immediately and doesn't try to find some physical boot device. Baud rate is 9600 which is standard for PC connection. Refer to the KA630 user guide for details.
Left of connector J2 my serial cable from the DLV11-J board reused here. Right of it the status leds of the uVAX. Green indicates DC_OK, the four red leds are the console status. In halt mode it displays an "8", binary "1000" or "on-off-off-off".

At the serial terminal emulator there can be done queries of memory or internal CPU registers just like the PDP-11 but with a bit more comfort. "e" is for "examine" and prints hex values, "d" is "deposit" for writing hex into registers or addresses. "s" starts a small program which was toggled in to a memory location. First thing I did was to check for the memory size just like I did for the smaller PDP11:

P  00001000  D4 50          <--- R0 = 0
P  00001002  90 80 51       <--- Load R1 from adress in R0, increment R0
P  00001005  11 FB          <--- ...and loop back to the previous comand
The "P" the listing shows indicates a physical RAM location (the console uses "G" for general purpose registers and "I" for internal registers).
If this little program is started by a "s 1000" it runs for a second until it stops with a "DBL" error. The CPU still is in interrupt mode and got a second one from the access to the first non-existant memory location. Now, by a "e /g 0" one can query the content of R0 which holds the physical memory size. For mine with only the 1MB onboard RAM this is a hex 00100000.

To be continued!

Appendix - VAX 11/630

In short: there is no and never was a VAX 11/630 nor a microVAX 11/630. But there was a VAX in a case called 630QZ or 630QY which had the headline "MicroVAX II 630QZ/QY" in its manual. The font of the manual had only an upright line for the "1" or "I" (or, "l") letter. Thus a misreading easily was possible.
On the other hand, the (mis-)suspection this actually reads 11/630 isn't a total nonsense. In a uVAX II there is a KA630 CPU, while the famous VAX 11/780 has a KA780 CPU indeed. So, ... ;)
I've to say, I could well imagine a custom microVAX II case inspired by an 11/780 design with a faked "11/630" logo on it. Maybe I'll make one. :)





Links


Debian homepage -- All the fan of pure GNU/Linux needs :)

Bitsavers -- A gold mine of documentation for old computers

HP Alpha Archive -- Documentation fof Alpha Hardware at HP



*

References

Alpha:
[1] Alpha 21164 Microprocessor Hardware Reference Manual, DEC, Maynard, Massachusetts 1996

[2] Alpha 21164 Microprocessor Data Sheet, Maynard, DEC, Massachusetts 1996

[3] AlphaPC 164LX Motherboard Technical Reference Manual, Compaq Computer Corporation 1999

[4] AlphaPC 164LX Motherboard Tru64 UNIX User's Manual, Compaq Computer Corporation 1999

[5] Alpha Architecture Reference Manual 4th Edition, Compaq Computer Corporation 2002

MicroVAX:
[6] KA630-AA CPU Module User's Guide, DEC 1986

[7] VAX-11 Architecture Reference Manual, Revision 6.1, DEC 1981

[8] MicroVAX II 630QY, 630QZ Operation, DEC, Maynard, Massachusetts 1986






Created: 15. Dezember 2012
© 2012 Diane Neisius

Back to Diane's HomePage
Kontakt

Diane's DEC Alpha & VAX Page


English version


von

Diane Neisius aka ~medusa

Last update: 15. Dezember 2012



Inhalt

DEC Alpha 21164

MicroVAX II

Links



Anti-Spam codierte Mailadresse :
medusa ät diane minüs neisius döt de




DEC Alpha 21164



Manchmal entstehen Projekte durch Zufall. Für meine Chipsammlung hatte ich schon eine Weile nach einem Alpha-Chip gesucht und dann mehr oder weniger zufällig einen in der Elektrobucht günstig erwischt. Irgendwie war ich aber neugierig, ob dieser große Klotz aus Keramik und Gold auch noch funktioniert und habe mehr oder weniger ziellos nach einer geeigneten Platine dafür gestöbert. Und dann, auch ziemlich günstig, gefunden. Sogar mit 1GB RAM drauf und einer weiteren 21164 CPU mit 533 MHz. Es war sogar noch eine Multifunktionskarte (PCI64) dabei, die über 2 SCSI-Anschlüsse, zwei Ethernet-Ports und einen Grafikadapter verfügt. Letztere brauche ich eigentlich nicht (falls die jemand haben möchte, einfach mailen, bevorzugt im Tausch gegen andere DEC-Hardware für die VAX oder PDP-11). Alles funktionierte bestens, auch die zuerst ergatterte CPU ist trotz leichter Übertaktung bei 466 MHz noch voll funktionsfähig.
Bild 1 - Dieser Chip löste mein Alpha Projekt aus. Obwohl als "Schrott" gekauft, ist er noch voll funktionsfähig.

Fragt sich, was man mit einem nackten AlphaPC 164LX Motherboard anfängt. Ich natürlich, wenn es denn irgend geht, erstmal Debian Linux draufpacken. Über die Installation von Debian auf Alphas gibt es im Web sehr gute Anleitungen, deshalb will ich das hier nicht nochmal alles aufschreiben, sondern nur auf die Probleme und ihre Lösung eingehen.
Ich habe über den ersten seriellen Port (das ist der obere DB9- Stecker) einen Terminalemulator auf meinem Desktop-PC drangehängt. Mit einem handelsüblichen ATX-Netzteil für PCs startete mein Alpha-Motherboard in den SRM.
Bild 2 - Das AlphaPC 164LX Board von oben gesehen. Charakteristisch für diese Platinen ist die "Kachelung" mit den L3-Cache Chips links oben. Zwei CF-Festplattenadapter stecken auf den IDE-Anschlüssen statt den Festplatten, ihre Kontroll-LEDS beleuchten die halbe Platine. In dem PCI32-Slot wird eine Netzwerkkarte mit dem schon etwas betagten RealTek 8139 Chip von der Alpha erkannt (von oben schwer zu sehen).

Bild 3a/b - Nebst dem PC-Netzteil braucht man als Minimum noch einen Taster, um das Alpha-Board einzuschalten (links neben dem 20-poligen ATX-Stecker sichtbar). Ich habe noch die Power-LED, einen Reset-Taster und die HD-LED bestückt. Alle Taster/LEDs sind auf Stücke einer Sockelleiste gelötet und werden auf die Platine aufgesteckt.

Für einen Bootversuch habe ich aus meinem Desktop das DVD-Laufwerk ausgebaut und an den zweiten IDE-Bus gehängt. Die Debian-Installer DVD für Alpha bootet davon auch ganz schön mit dem SRM-Kommando "boot dqb0 -flags 1".
Für den ersten IDE-Bus habe ich als Ersatz für eine Festplatte einen CF-Adapter mit einer 8GB-Karte für die Linux-Installation besorgt. Gewissermaßen statt einer SSD, ist das billiger als die meisten Festplatten, die man heute so kaufen kann.
Das lief auch erstmal alles ganz gut, Debian installiert sich auf der Speicherkarte ohne Probleme. Der Installer-Bildschirm sieht im reinen Textmodus über Seriellschnittstelle witzig aus, es ist aber sonst alles wie gewohnt. Nur der Reboot klappt nicht, auch dann nicht, wenn die Platte/CF-Karte im BSD-Format partitioniert wird. Ich habe alle möglichen Tips aus dem Web ausprobiert und dreimal auf unterschiedliche Art installiert, nichts hat funktioniert.

Booten von der Installer-DVD klappte nach wie vor, und von dort aus im Rescue-Modus eine Shell öffnen und das Filesystem auf der Karte mounten und per chroot auch richtig benutzen klappte wiederum beim ersten Versuch. Das Linux Rootfilesystem war also in Ordnung, nur wollte der zickige SRM nicht davon booten. Allerdings tat er das doch problemlos von ISO-Filesystemen... hmmm...
Also habe ich die /boot Partition von der CF-Karte kopiert (mit einem Kartenadapter am PC ist das sehr viel einfacher als eine ganze Festplatte umzubauen), habe davon mit einem normalen Brennerprogramm ein *.iso Image erstellt und das dann mit dem Tool isomarkboot bootfähig für eine Alpha gemacht. (Der aboot Loader muß dafür im Wurzelverzeichnis liegen, was er bei einer vom Installer erzeugten Partition meistens schon tut. Er heißt für die 164LX-Platine bootlx.)
In der Shell gibt man dann ein "isomarkboot mybootiso.iso bootlx" (oder wie das *.iso nun genau heißt). Man kann vor dem Erstellen des *.iso Images in der Datei etc/aboot.conf noch einige Anpassungen vornehmen, falls nötig. (Wer wie ich nur die seriellen Konsolenschnittstellen unter Linux benutzen möchte, sollte dem Kernel das über den entsprechenden Kernelparameter "console=ttyS0" mitteilen.)
Das bootfähige Image habe ich dann einfach mit dd auf eine zweite CF-Karte kopiert. Es tut dafür die kleinste, billigste und langsamste CF-Karte, die man finden kann, denn das Image ist nur ungefähr 100MB groß, der Rest des Speichers bleibt also unbenutzt. Alternativ kann man das Image natürlich auch auf eine CD brennen und von der booten. Hab ich auch ausprobiert, allerdings wollte mein Desktop-PC dann auch sein DVD-Laufwerk wiederhaben. ;)
Bild 4 - Der AlphaPC 164LX unter Debian Linux. Links hinten ist das Seriellkabel zu sehen, ein Fenster mit dem Minicom-Terminalemulator ist auf dem Flatscreen meines PCs zu sehen. Schnittstelle ist per Default auf 9600Baud, 8Bit, keine Parität, 1Stopbit gesetzt. Bei einem 15 Jahre alten AlphaPC paßt das stylische schwarzgrüne Terminal im Stil der alten VT102s, das ich sonst für die PDP-11 benutze, auch noch ganz gut...

Tja, und dann zu den Anwendungen... natürlich mußte ich die Performance des Maschinchens mit Linpack testen. Erstaunlicherweise entspricht die Performance der 15 Jahre alten Alpha durchaus noch der neuerer Maschinen, wie etwa dem iPad 1 oder der Wii.
Bei 1GB Speicher paßt mit Linpack sogar eine 10000x10000 Matrix noch, allerdings rechnet die 21164 CPU an der LU-Zerlegung auch etwa 1.5 Stunden...

Was mir noch fehlt ist ein Gehäuse. Ein kleines 2HE flaches im Design der AlphaStation 500 könnte mir gefallen.




MicroVAX II

Mit einer PDP-11 und einer Alpha fehlte mir nun eigentlich nur noch eine VAX in meiner Sammlung... auch hier hatte ich eigentlich zuerst nur an eine CPU (vielleicht eine schicke KA820) für meine Sammlung gedacht. Natürlich mit dem Hintergedanken, daß es schön wäre, wenn die auch noch funktioniert. Was ohne zusätzlichen Aufwand eigentlich nur in der Qbus-Packplane meiner '11 möglich ist... womit ich dann jedoch auf eine von den MicroVAXen festgelegt war.
Ich habe schließlich sehr günstig eine KA630 CPU ergattert, also die ursprüngliche Microvax II mit dem 78032 Chip drauf, historisch der ersten VAX, deren Kern in einen Chip paßte. Meine ist eine "A2" Revision, äußerlich gleich der A1. Auch schön für eine Sammlung. Zudem hat diese CPU fast genau die gleiche Leistung wie die berühmte VAX 11/780, was auch Anlaß zu einigen Wortspielereien mit dem Namen der uVAX II geben kann (s.u.).

Die KA630 CPU ist mit Konsolen-Schnittstelle, ROM, 1MB RAM und der entsprechenden Firmware ausgestattet, um auch ganz alleine laufen zu können. Die Konsolenfirmware erinnert in ihrem Design durchaus an das, was einen bei DEC Alpha's im SRM an der Konsole erwartet, allerdings nur in rudimentärem Zustand (man versteht dann aber, wo's herkommt).
Das M7606-Modul (also die KA630-CPU) ist Quad-Height, paßt also erstmal nicht in eine Dual-Backplane, wie ich sie besitze. Ein genaueres Studium zeigt allerdings, daß auf den "C" und "D" Kontaktflächen nur Adreßbuskontakte liegen. Stromversorgung ist redundant auch auf "A" und "B" vorhanden. Die Kontrollanschlüsse der Qbus-VAXen sind die gleichen wie bei Qbus-PDPs (insbesondere DC_OK, siehe meine PDP-11 Seite). Es ist also möglich, eine KA630 CPU nur mit einer Dual-Packplane auf den Kontaktflächen AB zu betreiben, allerdings nur allein. Meine Backplane ist zudem auch nur eine Q18, was aber ohne weitere eingesteckte Module auch keine Rolle spielt.

Bild 5 - Das ist wahrscheinlich die abgedrehteste VAX, die es im Web zu sehen gibt. Meine H9281 Dual Backplane (von der PDP-11/03) ist hier aus dem Card Cage ausgebaut, da die Quad-Height KA630 sonst überhaupt nicht paßt. Die nackte Backplane kann allerdings nicht auf ihrer Unterseite liegen, da sonst die Wirewrap- Kontaktpins verbiegen und Kurzschlüsse verursachen. Deshalb liegt hier die uVAX II CPU mit der auf die Kontaktflächen A und B aufgesteckten Backplane auf der Seite. An der Backplane ist die kleine Kontrollplatine von der PDP-11 zu sehen, das PC-Netzteil liegt hinter der Platine.
Wichtig ist: die uVAX muß aktiv gekühlt werden. Ohne Kühlung sind die Kühlflächen der beiden Chips 78032 und 78132 nach wenigen Minuten zu heiß, um sie noch anfassen zu können. Das ist nicht gut, denn für alle Halbleiter gilt: je kühler, desto länger leben sie. (Eine Weisheit, die die Besitzer übertakteter Grafikkarten an modernen PCs bestätigen können.) Für die Kühlung sorgt hier ein hängender PC-Gehäuselüfter, der die beiden pilzförmigen Kühlkörper anbläst.
Hinter der Platine ist der PC-Bildschirm mit dem Terminal-Emulator im passenden Schwarz-Grün zu sehen.

Auch die serielle Konsolenschnittstelle kann mit Zubehör von der PDP-11 versehen werden. Sie hat die gleiche Belegung wie die vier Stecker an der DLV11-J Seriellkarte für die '11. Deshalb hatte ich natürlich schon passende Kabel... auch dazu der Verweis auf meine PDP-11 Seite.
Alle anderen Steckanschlüsse können zunächst unbelegt bleiben. Die Konfiguration eintspricht dann logischen Nullen an den Eingängen des Steckers J2, was bedeutet:

Auf diese Weise läßt sich die uVAX schon mal starten. Der Prompt der Konsole ist übrigens schon genau der, der auch noch bei der Alpha Verwendung findet, ein ">>>".
Direkt nach dem Booten ist die CPU in der Konsole im Interruptmodus mit der höchsten Priorität, d.h., alle Interrupts sind abgeschaltet, und der Interrupt Stack Pointer (ISP) wird auf R14 gemappt. Er wird auch automatisch auf einen Wert von 0x200 initialisiert.
Weiterhin ist das virtuelle Memory-Mapping abgeschaltet, alle Speicheradressen entsprechen also den physikalische Adressen.

Bild 6 - Ein Blick auf den L-förmigen Spezialjumper, den ich mir für J2 aus einem Stück gedrehter Sockelleiste gebastelt habe. Er zieht den "HLT ENB" Pin und die Konfigurationspins 0 und 2 für die serielle Schnittstelle auf Masse (was in der invertierten Eingabelogik bedeutet, daß die entsprechenden Bits 1 werden). Die CPU bootet damit bis zur Konsole und sucht nicht mehr vergeblich nach Platten oder Netzwerk, und die Baudrate der Seriellschnittstelle ist auf die standardmäßigen 9600 Baud gesetzt. Zu diesen Angaben vgl. das Handbuch der KA630 CPU.
Links neben J2 mein Seriellkabel von der DLV11-J Schnittstelle, rechts die Status-LEDs der uVAX. Grün zeigt DC_OK an, die vier roten LEDS sind die Bits des Konsolenstatus. Im Halt-Mode ist die Ausgabe "8", also binär "1000" oder "An-Aus-Aus-Aus".

An der Konsole kann man nun mit sehr viel mehr Komfort als bei der PDP-11 die internen Register der uVAX oder Speicherstellen abfragen oder ändern. "e" steht für "examine" und gibt die Inhalte von Werten aus, "d" wie "deposit" schreibt Werte ein. Mit "s" kann man ein eingegebenes kleines Programm im Speicher starten. In Anlehnung an das Mini-Programm, das die Speichergröße in der PDP-11 ermittelt, habe ich genau so etwas auch für die VAX geschrieben:

P  00001000  D4 50          <--- R0 = 0
P  00001002  90 80 51       <--- Lade R1 von der Adresse in R0, erhöhe R0
P  00001005  11 FB          <--- ...und springe wieder zum letzten Befehl
Das P zeigt die Konsole bei einem "e" Kommando an, es bedeutet, daß der Wert an der physikalischen Speicheradresse liegt (G bedeutet "general purpose register" und I "internal register").
Startet man dieses kleine Programm mit dem Befehl "s 1000", dann wird die Schleife etwa eine Sekunde lang ausgeführt, ehe sie mit einer "DBL" Fehlermeldung abbricht (die CPU ist noch im höchsten Interruptmodus und hat trotzdem noch eine Unterbrechung durch einen Speicherfehler bekommen). Mit "e /g 0" kann man nun das Register r0 auslesen, in dem der Wert der Speichergröße steht. In meinem Fall nur mit dem 1MB Onboard-RAM ist das der Hex-Wert 00100000.

Wird fortgesetzt!

Appendix - VAX 11/630

Eine VAX 11/630 gab es von DEC genausowenig wie eine MicroVAX 11/630. Es gab aber eine VAX in einem Gehäuse namens 630 QZ oder 630 QY, bei der auf der Titelseite des Manuals die Zeile "MicroVAX II 630 QB/QY" stand. Der verwendete Schrifttyp verwendete nur eine senkrechte Linie für das große "I", was auch in anderen Fällen nur schwer von einem "l" oder einer "1" unterscheidbar ist.
Allerdings ist die Vermutung, daß das 11/630 heißen soll, im übertragenen Sinn auch nicht ganz abwegig. In einer uVAX II steckt eine KA630 CPU, während in der berühmten VAX 11/780 in der Tat eine KA780 CPU zu finden ist. Der (falsche) Schluß ist also auf den ersten Blick nicht unsinnig.
Ich muß sagen, ein Gehäusedesign inspiriert von der 11/780, nur mit einem gefakten 11/630 Typenschild ist ein interessanter Gedanke für meine uVax II... :)





Links


Debian homepage -- Alles was der Fan von reinem GNU/Linux braucht :)

Bitsavers -- Eine Fundgrube an Dokumentation von alten Computern

HP Alpha Archive -- Dokumentation für Alpha Hardware bei HP



*

Referenzen

Alpha:
[1] Alpha 21164 Microprocessor Hardware Reference Manual, DEC, Maynard, Massachusetts 1996

[2] Alpha 21164 Microprocessor Data Sheet, Maynard, DEC, Massachusetts 1996

[3] AlphaPC 164LX Motherboard Technical Reference Manual, Compaq Computer Corporation 1999

[4] AlphaPC 164LX Motherboard Tru64 UNIX User's Manual, Compaq Computer Corporation 1999

[5] Alpha Architecture Reference Manual 4th Edition, Compaq Computer Corporation 2002

MicroVAX:
[6] KA630-AA CPU Module User's Guide, DEC 1986

[7] VAX-11 Architecture Reference Manual, Revision 6.1, DEC 1981

[8] MicroVAX II 630QY, 630QZ Operation, DEC, Maynard, Massachusetts 1986






Created: 15. Dezember 2012
© 2012 Diane Neisius